Mayor Landrieu, New Orleans City Council, other officials take oaths of office at Saenger Theater

Posted on: May 5 2014
By Richard Rainey, | The Times-Picayune

New Orleans' next roster of elected officials will raise their right hands on stage at the opulent Saenger Theater on Monday (May 5), signaling the start of a popular mayor's second and final term at the helm and welcoming three new City Council members to the City Hall chamber dais.

The swearing-in ceremony will also usher into office the city's first new coroner in 40 years and start another term for an embattled sheriff tasked with turning around New Orleans' infamous prison system.

The inauguration ceremony will take place at 10 a.m., following an 8:30 invocation at St. Louis Cathedral. The council will then hold a special public meeting in City Hall at noon.

Mitch Landrieu, New Orleans' 61st mayor, first took office in May 2010 and won reelection in a landslide by taking 64 percent of the vote on Feb. 1.

Sheriff Marlin Gusman survived a runoff against his predecessor, longtime former Sheriff Charles Foti, to continue to steer the Orleans Parish Prison system into new facilities and new directives laid out under a federal reform mandate.

Dr. Jeffrey Rouse will succeed Dr. Frank Minyard, New Orleans' longest still-serving elected official who first took office in 1974, as the city coroner.

Stacy Head, a lawyer and residential property developer, will start her second full term as an at-large council member and will be sworn in by Orleans Parish Criminal Court Judge Tracey Flemings-Davillier.

Jason Williams, a defense attorney, will join the council as the other at-large member, being sworn in by retired Orleans Parish Criminal Court Judge Calvin Johnson.

Councilwoman Susan Guidry's husband, attorney Hervin Guidry, will swear her into her second term as the District A representative.

Councilwoman LaToya Cantrell, the only sitting council member to not be challenged in this year's elections, will be sworn in by her father-in-law, Orleans Parish Criminal Court Judge Harry Cantrell Jr.

Nadine Ramsey, a former judge, will take over the District C seat from the departing Kristin Gisleson Palmer after being sworn in by state Supreme Court Chief Justice Bernette Johnson.

Jared Brossett will make the switch from state lawmaker to the District D representative after being sworn in by Orleans Parish Civil District Court Judge Monique Morial.

James Gray will start his first full term after winning a special election in 2012 to represent District E. His wife, Orleans Parish Juvenile Court Judge Ernestine Gray, will swear him into office.

Also taking the oath of office Monday will be Criminal District Court Clerk Arthur Morrell and Civil District Court Clerk Dale Atkins.