NOLA Regional Leadership Institute recognizes its 2015 graduates

Posted on: July 7 2015

By NOLA Community Submission The Times-Picayune    

The New Orleans Regional Leadership Institute recently recognized 39 graduates of its class of 2015, which is comprised of business, civic and community leaders from the 10-parish region of Southeast Louisiana.

NORLI is a nine-month program designed to enhance personal leadership skills and examine issues central to the advancement of the Greater New Orleans region. Through a competitive application process, the class brings together business, civic and community leaders representing all races, genders, industries and communities in the region. Its mission is to promote regional collaboration by providing a forum for the exchange of diverse viewpoints and a network of relationships.

"I am more confident professionally and personally after completing the nine-month program at NORLI. My new skills have driven me to set bigger goals," said NORLI 2015 graduate Amy Collins.

This year, NORLI honored three individuals from its graduating class with special awards for ambassadorship – the Regional Leadership Award, which is given in honor of NORLI's founder Lonnie Stockwell; and the Community Service Award, which is given in honor of NORLI alumni Ric Smith and Jackie Sullivan. Awards were presented at the graduation ceremony last month.

Dr. Peter DeBlieux received the Regional Leadership Award. Community Service Award recipients are Yolanda Webb and Darlene Cusanza.

Cindy Nuesslein, CEO of the Interim LSU Hospital and chairman of NORLI, said, "As NORLI graduates, these recipients will continue to stand out as great members of the community and will flourish. They are more than deserving of their honors."

Graduates of the NORLI Class of 2015 are Shannon Able, Junior League of New Orleans; Chad Berg, Lee Michaels Fine Jewelry; Caitlin Berni, Greater New Orleans Inc.; Tashika Charles, Chevron; Amy Collins, Gambel Communications; Michael Connolly, CSX Corp.; Cusanza, Crimestoppers Inc.; DeBlieux, Interim Louisiana Hospital; Gina Dupart, School Leadership Center of Greater New Orleans; Mavis Early, Greater New Orleans Hotel & Lodging Association; Samantha Griffin, Stone Pigman Walther Wittmann LLC;  Alida Hainkel, Jones Walker; Timothy Hemphill, The New Orleans Business Alliance; Hunter Hill, IBERIA BANK; Quoc Hoang, Tulane University, A.B. Freeman School of Business; Rhonda Hotard, Louisiana Federal Credit Union; Alden Kellogg, Peoples Health; Nathan Landry, Durr Heavy Construction LLC; Spivey Lipsey, Mazzetti; Brittany Major, Business Council of New Orleans and The River Region; John Marshall, Bellwether Technology; Michael Merideth, Verius Property Group; Marguerite Moisio, Whitney Bank; Niva Murillo, Greenup Industries LLC; Bradley Pipes, Cox Business; Jennifer Roberts, Baptist Community Ministries; Louis Rodriguez, TCI Packaging; Vincent Rossmeier, Cowen Institute for Public Education Initiatives at Tulane University; Brian Rotolo, Ernst & Young LLP; Christopher Sarpy, Sarpy Development LLC; Eric Schmidt, evanSchmidt design; Brandy Smith, Postlethwaite & Netterville, APAC; Douglas Tate, Merrill Lynch; Renee Vidrine, Lighthouse Louisiana; Daniel Wagner, Blue Cross Blue Shield of Louisiana; Webb, Metropolitan Human Services District; Jonathan Wilson, Liberty Bank and Trust Co.; Wardlaw Witherspoon, International Matex Tank Terminal; and Jarrett Woods, LiftFund.