GNOHLA Announces 2008 President

December 28 2007 | Latest News
The Greater New Orleans Hotel and Lodging Association recently named Ashish Verma as its 2008 President. Verma is the General Manager of the Windsor Court Hotel.

Ashish Verma successfully led post-Katrina recovery efforts at the Windsor Court Hotel and as a result of his hard work and dedication to the hotel and the city of New Orleans, Windsor Court became one of the first hotels to re-open in New Orleans after Hurricane Katrina.

Born in The Punjab, India, Verma received a B.A. with honors in Political Science and Economics from Punjab University, Chandigarh, India; a graduate degree in Hospitality Administration from The Oberoi School of Hotel Management, New Delhi, India; and a Master of Business Administration from IMHI Cornell-Essec, Paris, France.

Prior to his current role with Orient Express Hotels, Trains and Cruises, Verma's career in hospitality includes various positions with Oberoi Hotels International, Hyatt International Corporation, and Millennium Hotels & Resorts in Asia, Europe and North America, in cities such as New Delhi, Paris and New York. Verma is a keen traveler, reader and speaks seven languages.

Other GNOHLA officers elected to serve in 2008 were: Vice President Bill McCreary, Sheraton New Orleans Hotel; Secretary Amy Reimer, International House Hotel; Treasurer Ted Selogie, JW Marriott Hotel; Chairman of the Board Fred Sawyers, Hilton New Orleans Riverside.
The 2008 Board of Directors includes: David Bilbe, Loews New Orleans Hotel; Joe Blanchek, Marriott Convention Center; Steve Caputo, Bienville House; Todd Chambers, Doubletree Hotel; Myra deGersdorff, Ritz Carlton Hotel; Martin Driskell, InterContinental New Orleans; Michael Pendergast, Harrah's New Orleans Hotel; Bruce Perone, Astor Crowne Plaza; Warren Reuther, Ambassador Hotel; John Romano, Hilton St. Charles; Pat Shimon, Maison Dupuy Hotel; Angela Thompson, W New Orleans Hotel; Gil Zanchi, New Orleans Marriott; Kathleen Young, Chateau LeMoyne Hotel; Daneen Zeringue, Chateau Sonesta Hotel.

Board Members who are past presidents include: Tico Bevier, Marriott New Orleans Metairie; Bryan Dupepe, Jr., Hotel Provincial; Darrius Gray, Holiday Inn French Quarter; Alfred Groos, Royal Sonesta Hotel; Eddie Jacobs, Hampton Inn and Suites; Ron Pincus, CHA, Monteleone Hotel; Patrick Quinn, Decatur Hotel Corporation; Brett Smith, The Saint Louis; Michael Valentino, CHA, Valentino New Orleans Hotels.

2008 Allied Board Member is Charlene Hale, USA Today.

Greater New Orleans Hotel and Lodging Association

Since 1924, the Greater New Orleans Hotel and Lodging Association has been the professional trade organization of lodging professionals of the New Orleans area. The association is an industry resource supporting activities in a variety of focus areas including education and professional training; legislative support and public issues management; operations and productivity assistance; government and business relations; crime prevention; and membership communications.

Natasha Carr